Spotlight Saturday: Absol

Source: es.pokemon.wikia.com

Of course, the first pokemon is the one named after the site! Probably one of my most favorite pokemon there is! It’s suave, handsome, and a gangster. Reigning from the Hoenn region, it’s intimidating, and has an extremely high attack stat. In fact, though it’s in the Rarely used tier, it’s a great pokemon! Strategy is it’s friend, with moves like Sucker Punch, Blizzard, Fire Blast, and Superpower, it’s a powerhouse that can get rid of overused pokemon like Espeon, Tyranitar, Dragonite, and Ferrothorn! That’s just a taste of what it’s potential is.

Source: bulbapedia.bulbagarden.net

Oh, and it’s anime appearance, was epic! It was in Absol-ute Disaster, and I remember every part! Everyone thought is was a bad pokemon, but few doubted this paradigm. After Ash and co. went up the mountains, they discovered Absol was warning the village of disaster! I remember the creepy, intimidating features, but it has good intentions. I really wish it had more appearances in the show, because that would be AWESOME!

Source: pldh.net

Oh my! I love Absol so much! Though, I haven’t used it in the story yet, I plan to. It’s a great fighter on Pokemon Showdown! It’s strategy I find best is having moves no-one would think to have, like the moves I listed in the first paragraph. But that’s not the reason of this paragraph. I really love Absol, it’s intimidating features, but kind demeanor really makes it special. It’s a great battler, in fact, it has the highest Attack stat of any non-legendary pokemon not in an evolutionary line! I think that’s something special! Absol’s also are just, like, a pokemon I want to hug! I have no idea why, but they just… make me want to hug them!

Source: bulbapedia.bulbagarden.net

The last section is the general things about it. Well, first off we have it’s name! There are lots of different ways to approach it, like many pokemon names, but the most reasonable one is that comes from Ab (Against or away from) and Sol (Sun), because it’s a Dark-type. I love it’s name, too! Oh, and it’s appearance is, well, complicated. Here is a brief summary of what Bulbapedia says. 

It could be based of the Bai Ze from Chinese Myths. It predicted a plague that was going to hit Japan. The Bai Ze is usually described as white that may take the form of a big mountain lion. It also had two horns, and a third eye (the black spot on Absol’s head), and was very intelligent. Some think part of Absol’s inspiration was from the infamous story of walking by a black cat brings bad luck, probably most likely used for Absol’s backstory. It could also be based off the sphinx, due to it’s cat-like appearance and humanoid head. Speaking of it’s head, it is most definitely based off of the Yin-Yang. 
Art:
Simplistic wallpaper: pldh.net
http://media.pldh.net/gallery/the493/absol.jpg
Sources:

Leave a comment