Top 5 Thursday: Water Worlds

Possibly THE most hated type of worlds or levels in gaming history, but there are always good ones. I was inspired to make this list because of Sonic Lost World having a new aquatic stage just being revealed not to long ago.

5. Sparkling Waters (New Super Mario Bros. U)

Source: mariowiki.com

Sparkling Waters is possibly the ONLY 2D Mario water world I enjoy. Why? It’s not COMPLETELY made of underwater stages. In fact, a majority of them is focused on above ground platforming. My personal favorite is the level called Above the Cheep Cheep Seas, becaurre I liked using Yoshi on the giant fountains. Plus, I like this world overall as it’s very colorful, unlike most Mario water worlds we’re they’re all just… blue.

4. Noki Bay (Super Mario Sunshine)
Source: giantbomb.com

Noki Bay is a really cool stage in Sunshine and while it’s nowhere NEAR my favorite, it’s still a great stage in Sunshine. I don’t remember much about playing it, but the actual look of the stage… phenomenal! I especially loved the strange… aloneness of the stage. Sure, there were a couple NPC’s here and there, but it gives me a bit of an eerie feel sometimes. I also like the stage where the water was toxic… that was a fun stage to play in! It was challenging, but I liked it all in all!


3. Keelhaul Key (Paper Mario: The Thousand Year Door)
Source: cube.gamespy.com
Technically, this is more of a jungle world, but who cares! Keelhaul Key is one of my favorite levels in Thousand Year Door, next to the Glitz Pit world. This was a really nice stage and has my second favorite partner in TTYD as well, Bobbery! Cortez is hands down the coolest boss in the game as well, and I always found it funny that Cortez was nice at the end while keeping that scary look. One day, I’d like for the location to be mentioned again or perhaps SHOWN again, even the Paper Mario had never done it before, so, I don’t think they’d start with that one.

2. Bubble Man’s Stage (Mega Man 2)
Source: gamesradar.com
Oooh, a third party character’s stage. One of the main reasons WHY I like this stage so much is that they introduced the BEST water mechanics in ANY platformer. I loved the floatiness and challenge of the stage and simplicity of it. You know it was gorgeous and I was very enveloped into it when I first played the stage. My favorite enemy in it… would be the giant fish. While it took a bit of time to defeat, he looked super funny, the ability to spawn more krill or shrimp (or whatever), and the fact that he still LOOKED like a robot was nice. While Bubble Man wasn’t… great, he was still a pretty nice boss. His design was like, nasty, but the battle was good enough!
1. Aquarium Park (Sonic Colors)
Source: sonic.wikia.com
From the blue bomber to blue blur, I give you number one! Aquarium Park is easily number one, too. It comes from my ALL TIME favorite Wii game (Fun Fact: Sonic Colors came out on birthday… and I can never stress that enough) and that the music was infectious. Don’t get me wrong EVERY world in that game was special in it’s own way. However, Aquarium Park is great. It was so cool! The theme was really neat, the whole Japanese-esque look, the soothing atmosphere, and the FAIR underwater conditions, I mean, what’s NOT to love? The one snag of this world is the boss and I’d say the same about the whole game. Like, seriously, a REPEAT of a previous boss? But, heh, positive stuff. The last thing I’d like to mention is the funny dialogue Eggman has over the loudspeaker. Here’s a taste of it.
“Remember ladies and gentlemen, try the newest dining experience here at Eggman’s Incredible Interstellar Amusement Park, the Bucket O’ Sushi. Now with FISH!”
“Please avoid breaking the glass, as it’s the only thing between you, and 10 million gallons of freezing wet death.”
“Remember to try out our new and improved water slides! Now with 20% less raw sewage!”
Ah… such a charming park, no?

Leave a comment