Top 5 Thursday: Luigi’s Mansion: Dark Moon Mansions

This is a fun one. Since there ARE five of these mansions, I have decided to rank them. So, the first is the worst, and the last is the best. Without further ado, I shall start the article.

5. Old Clockworks

Source: mariopartylegacy.com

Sorry for anybody who actually LIKES Old Clockworks, but I found this area boring. It’s design is fine, but the puzzles were relatively easy, the boss was a severe let-down (even for a game with lame bosses to begin with), and the whole sand-aspect got annoying. Also, a lot of the missions were annoying. Like connecting keys to make a clock? There were other problems with the place too. However, it makes much more sense to see WHY people don’t like it… just by hearing others opinion not counting mine. Most don’t really like it over others.

4. Secret Mine

Source: telegraph.co.uk

Secret Mine can be fun at times, but this mansion is just as annoying as Old Clockworks, just a bit more… unique in the end. There are a lot strange tricks with the underground parts. I like the overground areas, though. The music, however, is pretty good here, too. I wouldn’t say I hate this place, but it could’ve been executed better. I just wish that it was better than it was. Plus, it was unnecessarily short in terms of mission count, and too long in terms of mission length!

3. Gloomy Manor

Source: ign.com

How could one HATE Gloomy Manor? It’s meant as the average area, and it’s the first world! However, I actually really like this world. Despite being a normal house (that’s haunted) it’s really cool! There are lots of hidden traps, funny puzzles, the boss is the best in the game, and there are several little easter eggs in it. Plus, it introduced my favorite character in the game, Polterpup!

2. Haunted Towers

Source: ign.com

My, my! I think I love this world very much, in all seriousness. This world is really cool. You go into two close buildings (one working more as a technical side for the other one, being the residential area) and is really cool, because plants have taken over the whole building! It’s boss is probably one of the worse bosses (the worst being Secret Mine’s) but the world makes up for it for the humorously annoying road TO the boss. Some of the mansions are a bit annoying, but have a good laugh at the end.

1. Treacherous Mansion

Source: mariowiki.com

To start off, this is probably one of the few moments in a video game that made me jump. Let’s just say I expected what I was going to see when Luigi opens up the door, but I was still shocked. Now, this mansion LOOKS final world, material. It’s large and has very regal design. The inner has touches of each previous mansion: the Dark Age Exhibit for Gloomy Manor, the Ancient Exhibit for Old Clockworks, the Jungle Exhibit for Haunted Towers, and the Ice Age Exhibit for Secret Mine. Plus, they have more “exhibits” on top of those rooms! I mean, come on, this is a REALLY good one!

Leave a comment