Miyamoto explains his appreciation for shooters and Splatoon’s design

Splatoon2

Shigeru Miyamoto recently participated in an EDGE interview, and with it, he talked a little bit out Splatoon. In it, Miyamoto explains that he really does like the mechanics and controls of the shooter. He even goes into the fact that he explains that he knows he was already rather well at creating action games, such as the shooter-action game Metroid Prime. Furthermore, he discusses a little bit on how this appreciation for the shooter genre influenced Splatoon.

I’ve always liked the control mechanism of the shooter, personally. And, you know, I’ve always been rather good at making action games. I was also a producer on Metroid Prime, so I would never say that I don’t like shooters.

I’ve always been interested in their controls. Instead of thinking of [entering] the already-fierce rivalry in the shooter arena, I thought we’d be able to come up with an unprecedented, but still appropriate, control system [using the GamePad].

 

Leave a comment