Spotlight Saturday: Charizard

Source: pidgi.net

Charizard is a fire-breathing dragon. They don’t get much cooler than that! He’s the final evolution of Charmander, if you didn’t know, and Charmander is the fire type starter of Kanto. Charizard, while in the NeverUsed tier of competitive play, is a great pokemon in the main story of the games. However, you can still use him in real battles, just check out his Smogon page! Charizard here also is used in another game, too. That being Super Smash Bros. Brawl, where he was one of the three pokemon available to use under the battler “Pokemon Trainer” along with Squirtle and Ivysaur. No doubt he’s probably the second most known pokemon next to Pikachu!

Source: kotaku.com

There is only one Charizard I need to mention, and that’s Ash Ketchum’s of course! Originally an abandoned Charmander, Charizard is Ash’s strongest pokemon. In fact, it became so strong, Ash had to send it away when he went to the Johto region as it really did nothing to defeat it’s opponent. That place was Charicific Valley, a place where Charizards lived naturally. He even had a little lover named Charla, another Charizard. Charizard has appeared several times after the Johto series, though, his most notable appearance is his return to Ash’s team in the episode The Fires of a Red-Hot Reunion! However, he as a rivalry with Iris’s Dragonite, also a Kanto pokemon. This Fire/Flying type has powerful moves like Dragon Tail and is Ash’s most recognized pokemon next to of course, Pikachu.

Source: pokemondb.net

Similar to Serperior (however, I have used a Serperior now and they are GREAT) I have never used a Charizard before. I know, I know GASP! But honestly, I don’t like how recognized he is and with the few times I have tested him out, he isn’t all THAT good. Blastoise and Venusaur are just as good as him, but for different reasons. However, my brothers and I are pretty close when it comes to gaming and like, when I watch them play a game… I get enveloped into the game, especially pokemon. My little brother had a Charizard he never named, but he was pretty good in LeafGreen. I specifically remember him single handedly taking out Erika, too, because that was the one time I ever used a Charizard. While he was really easy to use in the battle, I just didn’t like the playstyle of him. However, he IS an EXCELLENT pokemon, do not doubt that, I just don’t like to use him.

Source: bulbapedia.bulbagarden.net

Before we begin with origin, you may notice I sometimes squeeze trivia into this part, well now is one of those times. People don’t often know this but in terms of stats, neither Typhlosion nor Charizard are better. They have the same EXACT stats, so it just comes down to movesets. Anyway, Charizard comes from “lizard” and “char” which is when you heat or burn something. His look is based of course, on dragons. Specifically, the European dragons. However there are many different forms of European dragons, because if you remember, Dragonite is also based on those types of dragons. Just keep that in mind.

Art:
Simplisitic Art: http://pldh.net/media/gallery/the493/charizard.jpg

Source: pldh.net

Leave a comment